Cat time!

After finishing my pike season with a bang, I have been out of sorts to be honest. The rivers are closed, my first choice waters haven’t switched on yet and I’ve been lost for a target species. I’ve fished Lymmvale for tench on a couple of occasions with no success and been put off by how busy it has been this year. I remember last year, if you didn’t have the place to yourself midweek, it certainly wasn’t crowded either. So I’ve been roaming the canals looking for carp and popping down the specimen lake for the same species. Apart from pulling out of an orange koi on a piece of floating bread, a fish I caught a few years back, there has been no action. So with this warmer weather, and with a tip off from Smudge, I headed to a small pool after big cats! It seems odd for me to start catting this early in the year but I needed to escape the crowds and find my ‘own’ water to fish. Thankfully few have been night fishing and I have had the place to myself. Settling on a spot in the middle of the pool where any cat which moves up or down will pass my bait, I quickly got the gear sorted and was fishing in no time. A slurry of chopped pig liver, heart and kidney, grated spam, tins of sardines, tuna, and pellets bound in halibut groundbait was dumped on my spots along with a couple of pints of maggots to attract the prey fish. This was followed in by the rigs baited with the standard half tins of spam.

Spring pool big cat 034Spring pool big cat 035

A question I get asked the most is what set up/ rig I use for catfish. So basically it is a standard carp rod and reel with 40lb line, mono for Lymmvale due to the braid ban, but braid also in 40lb breaking strain, for everywhere else. The reason being is that you need to stop a cat from rounding an island, finding a snag or taking everyone else’s rods out. Which happened to me once in the past resulting in a messy situation. The hooklink is 2ft of Catfish Pro kevlar Catlink in 40lb to a size 2/0 eagle wave hook also from Catfish Pro and a 150lb b/s swivel. This is accompanied with a 3oz running lead with a Fox pop up leger stem providing the all important resistance free rig. I use a piece of polyball or wine bottle cork as a bait stopper which also neutrally balances the bait and a section of a drinking straw is pushed through the centre of the spam, through which the hair is threaded, to stop it flying off on the cast. You can cast as far as you like with the bait rigged this way.

Spring pool big cat 033Spring pool big cat 038

What really makes the difference though is these rollover indicators from Zandavan productions. http://www.zandavan.co.uk/rollovers.html  Without a hint of exaggeration, these have revolutionised my predator fishing, to the point where I wouldn’t consider fishing without them. Basically they allow you to fish with open bail arms and the slightest pull on the line makes them roll back and frees the line to run off the spool. I got them for eel fishing but my success with perch and pike this winter is down to the zero resistance offered by these indicators. I can’t recommend them enough, thanks to Bruce for getting me on to these. Anyway, enough about that. After several missed runs on the first session, I packed up and went to work, then finished work and went back to the pool! Maximum time spent on the bank is key. Baits back out, missed runs again, which I always put down to kittens, then at 8am, I finally connected with a fish.

Spring pool big cat 020Spring pool big cat 015

It ran me ragged all round the lake and took a sustained cajoling to bring to the net. 20 minutes after the take it was finally bagged. I rested the fish for a good 5-10 minutes whilst I faffed about getting the scales and camera sorted. Taking the strain of the weighty fish, I knew it was a ’30’ at least, the scales read 37lb 12oz. Not bad for a first fish from this water, my 11th UK cat over 35lb, couldn’t be happier. I have a feeling they don’t go any bigger in here, so i’ll fish a few more sessions testing out some bespoke boilies courtesy of Mike at Viking Baits, before heading off to the next target.

Spring pool big cat 029

Until next time, Tight Lines!    

6 thoughts on “Cat time!

  1. Nice one Ian , that’s a lovely long fish and always a good scrap due to nature of pool , may be the biggest but there’s still a couple more 30s in there waiting for ya …..

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cheers Mick, amazing fish for such a small water, and as you say, a great fight. I’m going to have a few more sessions for the other big cats, had a 27.2 this morning!

      Like

    • Haha! Yeah I seem to get lucky now and then. Been fitting in a couple of night sessions in between work, got next two days off so will be back for more before moving on to the next challenge.

      Like

  2. Brilliant fish there mate, my biggest so far is a 20 from Founders, and that gave me a fight and a half. Do you recommend any pegs in particular on Spring pool (had a look there today and really fancy it!) and are best tactics to go to the island or stay under the near bank?

    Like

    • Hi John, thanks for your comments. Yes they certainly pull back! I fish the pegs just past the island and put a bait in the middle of the water either side of the island. It shouldn’t take too many sessions to get a run, and always look for rising temps to give you a good chance. I use the same tactics on Lymmvale, it’s a much harder water but a reasonable chance of a 40+ cat.

      Like

Leave a comment